Welcome Offer - 20% OFF RRPs over £7.99 and FREE UK shipping - deducted at the checkout

Collection: #HaltonReads

Halton Libraries have put together a 2 week 'Festival of Reading' running 16-27th November for all of their schools to access.

They have a superb mix of authors, poets, illustrators and a live storyteller performing via Video Links for schools or parents to access for 24 hours at a time for free and safely.

Then each performer will do a live question session with the relevant schools.


There is some Arts Council Funding which is enabling books to be bought at a superb price of £3 each.

So PLEASE do not order on this site as the prices are the ones we use for general custom. You will get the discounted price via the order form at school.

The authors and illustrators and poets taking part have many books to choose from, we have tried to put a list of their newer and easily obtained books together which has been sent to the schools, some authors have long series we have pointed at Book One in any series, but we can take orders.

A form is being sent to each school so parents can put their child's first name and book title on and then they receive a specially designed bookmark and bookplate that each author signs for the child.

If you do want a second book use the site and put relevant names and school details in for delivery, you get 20% OFF RRPS (over £6.99 as we cover postage/delivery)

Each Performer will also have a collection page on the site so do pop and see.

We have collections for Bali Rai and Patrice Lawrence for older readers, they are usually read by 11-16 year olds, but Patrice does have a fab book about the Tudors which is fine for Years 5-6 and Bali also does one on the Indian Muleteers in WW2 in the same series.

Lydia Monks is one of Julia Donaldson's illustrators and has also done several books on her own, she is aimed at the younger reader and book lover.

Steve Cole writes for all ages and is really funny! Plus his Young Bond and Z-Rex are full of action for Y5-6.

Gareth P Jones also is very much a writer for all ages, he has 2 lovely picture books, several series for Y2-5 and some amazing standalone books.

Barbara Mitchelhill writes brilliant historical stories full of adventure for Y4-6 and her Number One Detective Series and Eric series are ace for Y3-4.

Marie Basting and Susan Brownrigg are new and only have one book each but both are superb and aimed at Y4-6

Jennifer Killick has a fab series ideal for fans of Wimpy Kid and similar in her Alex Sparrow series and Mo, Lottie is a real treat too, these all work for Y4-6, her Crater Lake is amazing, but quite scary too, best for Y5-6.

Matt Goodfellow is an amazing poet and you will love his witty poems.

Mama G is one of the absolute best performing storytellers children will love the show.

 

 

73 products
  • Old dog, new tricks
    Regular price
    £7.99
    Sale price
    £7.99
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Killing Honour
    Regular price
    £7.99
    Sale price
    £7.99
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Stay a little longer
    Regular price
    £6.99
    Sale price
    £6.99
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Mohinder's War
    Regular price
    £6.99
    Sale price
    £6.99
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Christmas with Princess Mirror-Belle
    Regular price
    £5.99
    Sale price
    £5.99
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Princess Mirror-Belle and the Sea Monster's Cave - reading book
    Regular price
    £5.99
    Sale price
    £5.99
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Mermaid make and do
    Regular price
    £0.00
    Sale price
    £0.00
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out
  • Ladybird make and do
    Regular price
    £6.99
    Sale price
    £6.99
    Regular price
    Unit price
    per 
    Sold out